Today we done work on synopsis and treatment and we were shown an animation which we had to write a synopsis for.

For the synopsis, I wrote: An older generation of animators are criticising what the younger generation of animators are doing, but when they speak about their past to each other, it turns out that they criticising the exact same thing as to what the younger generation are doing.

We then had to write a synopsis and treatment for our own films, to which I followed a structure for the treatment.

Synopsis:

A homless man plays his ukelele in order to earn a living and manages to work his way up the music business to a much  wealthier lifestyle. He then realises that it is not money that he needs, and so, he returns to the streets to perform for the passerbys.

I also found a quote which I found fitting for my final film, which is:

Some people are so poor, all they have is money.” – Patrick Megher

Treatment:

For my final film, I aim to create a ninety second film, which depicts the story of a homeless man that finds happiness in the music that he plays and declines fame and fortune for the love of his music.

A homless man plays his ukelele in order to earn a living and manages to work his way up the music business to a much  wealthier lifestyle. He then realises that it is not money that he needs, and so, he returns to the streets to perform for the passerbys.

For the stylistic direction, I aim to create a 2D traditional animation to which the rhythm of the edit will match the sound and music. The music will be that of the homeless man playing his ukelele, and will start off in a slow, morose atmosphere and gradually incline to a much happier, exciting atmosphere as the man works his way up to true happiness. For the sound, I expect to use generic sounds of footsteps and people mumbling to represent the passerbys on the street, and other sounds that give the impression that it is a real life setting. As with the music, I feel that the colour palette should react in the same way: for the start of the film, the colours are dreary, and lacklustre, and slowly, as the animation continues and as the homeless man starts to improve his life, the colour becomes more vibrant and encouraging.

As for the techinical side, I will be hand drawing the animation and backgrounds before scanning them in for me to colour in the program TV Paint. I also will be using Adobe programs, such as After Effects and Premiere Pro to incorporate other aspects into the film. The intended audience for the film is very broad, as I believe that the demographic for the film does not play a major part.

