Throughout my time at university, the idea of writing a dissertation was a intimidating subject, partly because of the mammoth task of writing what could have been an over ten thousand word dissertation, but mainly because I had no idea on what I was going to base my writing on. Now that the dissertation has been modified to a four thousand word extended essay, that aims to work in close association with our final project, I feel much more confident about it, although I am still unsure on which way I should take my essay. My final film has a heavy reliance on music to help tell and drive the story, as well as provoking emotion from the audience, so, for my extended essay, I know that I will be basing it on the musical side of animation, and how it either affects the audience or helps influence the story, but I am undecided on whether to create an argument, discussion, or exploration on the subject.

